getting back into the groove

jann2012 (2)

Market haul.

Almost two weeks now back in Toulouse. Sleep schedule is back on track, one term paper turned in, and for the second I’ve gotten an extension. Last week Edd was back up in Lyon of all places for work, and I was here bumbling about in the blissful student paced life I’d left behind. Of course, that didn’t mean doing nothing, just falling back into the much less intense rhythm of life here in our little nest.

One thing I was sure not to miss this weekend: the farmer’s market at St. Aubin. My love for this market has only grown as I’ve been away for so long and now can really see how it stands out among the others.

radicchio

Radicchio.

I pretty much went to town this week, restocking our bare pantry and fridge and picking up a few other things. Just to give you an idea, here’s what a big week looks like, though its just a tiny bit more than normal weeks… Garlic, shallots, onions, leeks, chick peas and potatoes. An adorably small head of cauliflower, two big stalks of broccoli, spaghetti squash, buttery lettuce and a radicchio as beautiful as any flower. A kilo of dark orange manderine oranges from Portugal that are juicy and sweet-tart. Cheese, eggs, homemade fromage blancs with fruit preserves, and a bottle of cold-pressed organic sunflower seed oil. Pork ribs on the bone and boudin noir from a farmer that butchers their own meats.

So far one of the best parts of being back is cooking in my little kitchen once again. Everything I love and need, in it’s place. But last week I slept through the market and was stuck with passable but much less exciting produce from the supermarket. This week is going to be much more fun. Ever since listening to the broccoli episode of Spilled Milk, I’ve been craving it. And oh goodness, promise me all of you that you will try Melissa Clark’s Roasted Broccoli and Shrimp as they recommend! (You could totally try it with tofu too I bet for a vegetarian version.) It’ll knock your socks off and is quite possibly one suitable rival for my other favorite winter roasted vegetable recipe, Roasted Curried Cauliflower. Make those two dishes this week and you won’t even care that it’s cold and wintery out.

Other recipes on my list to try this week: roasted radicchio (now where did I glimpse that recipe amidst all my food blogs this week..?) and boudin noir with chick peas, carmelized onions and lots of cumin. Mmm… happy to be back in the kitchen!

tea basket

Tea basket.

Upon our return from the US, there were a couple New Year’s projects I was dying to attack, but I had been held back by the strict  deadline for my théâtre dossier. I’m not really big on resolutions, but I like the idea of starting new projects.

Once that silly paper was out of the way, and Edd up in Lyon, I got to it: cleaning and reorganizing the kitchen and bedroom closet. After living in very spartan conditions in Lyon and bringing back a ton of stuff from the US, I felt the urge to clean, sort and purge. Our space is pretty limited here, and I’ve brought a lot of things and gadgets into our household. Thursday I worked on the kitchen, cleaning out the pantries, wiping down all the cabinets and rearranging some of the appliances. All that’s left is to find the right place for my big collection of tea…

hanging baskets

New addition.

Perhaps in here? A new addition to the kitchen, a set of hanging baskets. More on my little kitchen soon. Until next time, make those recipes!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “getting back into the groove

  1. Annika says:

    I want to come over for dinner!

  2. sarah says:

    you got those baskets–I’ve been eyeing them for so long! can’t wait to get back cooking in that kitchen with you! bisous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

